sonic apricity

sonic apricity sm


sonic apricity is a new-music duo comprised of violinist Erik Rohde and violist Jacob Tews.  The group is dedicated to uncovering and commissioning new works by living composers for violin and viola, and performing them in stand-alone recitals and alongside more established works.  The duo’s first commission was from Christopher Walczak (Flashing Forward Thinking Back – commissioned for the 2016 American Viola Society Festival).



Handel/Halvorsen – Passacaglia
Handel/Halvorsen – Sarabande con Variazioni
Lowell Liebermann – Two Pieces for Violin and Viola, Op. 4
Bohuslav Martinů – Three Madrigals for Violin and Viola
W.A. Mozart – Duo in G Major, K. 423
Augusta Read Thomas – Rumi Settings
Lloyd Ultan – Dialogues #3
Christopher Walczak – Flashing Forward Thinking Back [2015 sonic apricity commission]



March 16, 2016 – 7:30pm – Wartburg College, Waverly, IA
March 24, 2016 – 7:30pm – Recital Hall, Indiana State University
March 25, 2016  7:30pm – Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
Outside the Box Festival

June 10, 2016 – 3:30pm – Oberlin College Conservatory of Music
American Viola Society Festival
“Life After the Madrigals: Lesser-known Contemporary Repertoire for Violin and Viola”

Festival Session Handout